A new kit for a new season

Well. Just as I’d started to wonder whether my ambitious fussball table découpage project was EVER going to rediscover even the smallest iota of momentum… it did! Behold a whole row of the reds at last:

The reds are ahead...

The reds are ahead…

OK, so I haven’t given the metal rod the Decopatch treatment yet. And OK, yes, the players’ original painted markings are stubbornly showing through even multiple layers of paper so far, damn them – so I’ll have to apply more patches to completely finish even these players. But the point I’m hanging on to for sheer sanity and by my very fingernails (or what is left of them) is that this weekend the percentage of players in their new kit has increased from a paltry 4.5% to a slightly more dignified 18%.

This chap – Rufus Redman, as you may recall – you’ve seen before, when I introduced him back in – eek! – February:

The first player to try out the new kit: lucky Rufus Redman.

The first player to try out the new kit: lucky Rufus Redman.

Here is red team member number two:

I may have a new camera, but funnily enough I still haven't worked out lighting. So unfortunately you can't really see the pattern on this darker red here. Maybe next time!

I may have a new camera, but funnily enough I still haven’t worked out lighting. So unfortunately you can’t really see the pattern on this darker red here. Maybe next time!

And number three:

This chap clearly got in a tangle with his grandmother's curtains...

This chap clearly got in a tangle with his grandmother’s curtains…

And last but not least, number four:

Slightly giraffey.

Slightly giraffey.

You may wonder why, when these players are on on the same team, I’ve chosen to do each in a different paper. Well, that way at least they have some sense of individuality (even though I’m limiting the variations to five). I’ll leave you to read earlier posts on this project for explanations of why I’m covering them completely, as opposed to detailing their features!

So I now have seven more reds to go, including the goalie. Do I do the goalie in red, as he is in his original markings, or do I give him a special goalie kit? Decisions, decisions… And after that I still have the 11 blues to go. And then I need to patch them all to hide any persistent show-through. And then I need to do the metal rods and the handles. Sigh.

But then, glory of glories, it’ll be finished! Art, sweetie, art.

2 thoughts on “A new kit for a new season

Comments are closed.